Browse By


Alamo Area Council of Governments to present 2008 Regional Awards

SAN ANTONIO, TX.-   On Wednesday, June 11, 2008, the Alamo Area Council of Governments (AACOG) will present their 2008 Regional Awards during the semiannual meeting of the AACOG Area Council and Board of Directors. The semiannual meeting will take place at 1 p.m., in the Al J. Notzon III Board Room, 8700 Tesoro Drive, Suite 100, San Antonio. A reception honoring the awardees will take place directly following the semiannual meeting. AACOG has been presenting these awards since 1974.

Ms. LaJuana Newnam-Leus will receive the Regional Citizen of the Year Award for her 18 years of service to the Wilson County Historical Society, assisting in the establishment of the Jail House Museum and the DeWees Remschel House. As a Director of the Floresville Chamber of Commerce she worked for economic development through tourism in our area. She was also County Liaison with the National Park Service. She also played a major role in gathering resolutions for El Camino Real de Los Tejas Project, and has served on the Alamo-La Bahia Corridor Committee as Vice Chair and Current Chair of that committee.

Corona Visions, Inc. is receiving the Corporate Citizen of the Year Award for their work as an electronic recycler in San Antonio certified as a responsible E-Steward by the Basel Action Network, the world’s only organization focused on confronting the global environmental injustice and economic inefficiency of toxic trade. CVI supports the San Antonio Community by sponsoring free electronic collections at community fairs such as Earthwise Living, Basura Bash, and Earth Day. CVI also partnered with CPS Energy to recycle lawnmowers collected at LiveGreen Fest.

The Karnes City Park Project was selected to receive the Community Project of the Year Award; for the work of local organizations, city leaders, and citizens, who came together to embrace the park project and complete the park in 18 months time. The park is now being used by citizens of neighboring cities and allows intercommunity relationships, and has instilled a sense of community pride and a local area for community fellowship. The park provides a splash pad, basketball, volleyball, picnic and play areas, and a walking trail, which were not previously accessible to this area.

The Cibolo Nature Center was also selected to receive the Community Project of the Year Award. The center was selected for being a regional leader in conservation education and nature center development. The center has consulted in regional projects such as Mitchell Lake, San Antonio Botanical Center, Texas Nature Conservancy, Texas Parks and Wildlife, and more; and has also assisted in the creation of the Kendall County Partnership for Parks, The Cibolo Conservation Corridor, Boerne Hike and Bike Trails, The Cibolo Conservancy Land Trust and the Non-profit Network for Kendall County. CNC has partnered with regional agencies to create opportunities for citizens to find community and meaningful education, and serves as a wonderful example of how to engage a community in preserving our natural resources.

New Braunfels Utilities SAFEhaven Employee Volunteer Program was selected to receive the Governmental Regional Project of the Year Award for their projects designed to promote the health and vitality of the community and the safety and comfort of its residents. Projects include: A school program designed to teach children that NBU employees can assist in emergencies, a weatherization project for low-income homeowners, reforestation of city parks, a 5K Run/Walk to raise funds to buy shoes for low-income school children, and a bike rodeo to provide children with a safe environment to practice the skills needed to ride safely. NBU employees have contributed more than 4,000 hours to the New Braunfels Community.

Outgoing Economic Development & Environmental Review Chairwoman City of Natalia Mayor Ruby Vera and Regional Emergency Preparedness Advisory Chairman Wilson County Judge Marvin Quinney, as well as outgoing AACOG Board members Former Universal City Mayor Joe Medinger, Former Kerrville Mayor Gene Smith, and Former Olmos Park Mayor Gerald Dubinski, will also be recognized for their years of service at the meeting.

Submitted By: vgonzales