Browse By


Gonzalez receives Leadership Award

Assistant City Manager Frances A. Gonzalez was recently selected by the International City/County Management Association (ICMA) as the 2008 recipient of the Assistant Excellence in Leadership Award in Memory of Buford M. Watson, Jr.

The award recognizes an outstanding local government management professional who serves as an assistant to a chief local government administrator. Gonzalez was chosen amongst eight nominees representing cities in California, Florida, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Kansas, and Texas. The formal presentation of this award took place during the ICMA Conference in Richmond, Virginia on September 24, 2008.

“This recognition is a very humbling experience. It is an honor to be considered for this award and to be selected is certainly a highlight of one’s career,” said Gonzalez.

Gonzalez is being recognized for achievements during her 24 years of service with the City of San Antonio. She has served as Assistant City Manager since November 2003 and oversees the City’s human development efforts. Gonzalez has led a variety of City projects, including the integration of public health services between the San Antonio Metropolitan Health District and Bexar County’s University Health System. Her nomination also describes her work on the Haven for Hope homeless campus.

“We are proud of Frances’ achievement and for the recognition of her years of service to the City of San Antonio,” said City Manager Sheryl Sculley.

Gonzalez has served on many committees with ICMA, which include its Strategic Planning Committee from 2006 to 2008; Retirement Corporation Client Advisory Forum 2005 to 2008; Task Force on Governance Committee 2005 to 2007; Task Force on Job Hunting Resources 2004 to 2005 and its Local Government Management Fellowship Committee 2003 to 2006. Additionally, she is an advocate for involvement by her peers in professional development organizations, such as the International Hispanic Network where she served as president for three years from 2003 to 2006.