Browse By


Enrique M. Barrera Community Center


Inauguración del Centro Comunitario Enrique Barrera


See our Photos

The Enrique M. Barrera Community Center encompasses the western portion of the building located at 5800 Old U.S. Highway 90 West, in what used to be the Levi Strauss & Co. sewing plant.

The consultant for the project, which also included the Ronald R. Darner Parks and Recreation Operations Headquarters, was Beaty Palmer Architects, Inc., and Wallace L. Boldt served as the contractor. Former Park Design Manager Scott Stover served as the first project manager, assisted by Landscape Architect Assistant Eric Reyna. Former Parks Capital Projects Manager Rodney Dziuk also served as a manager for the $5.3 million project funded from Certificates of Obligation, Park Bonds and the Housing and Urban Development Department (HUD) 108 Program. The inspectors were David Sesters and Jackson Whalen.

The 22,000 square foot community center features a wellness component with fitness as its focus. It includes a fitness room with cardio equipment and weights and an aerobics studio where dance classes such as zumba and jazzercise are offered. 

Multipurpose rooms will be utilized to host workshops on health and wellness related topics. Plans also include a library stocked with fitness books, CDs, DVDs, and healthy recipe cookbooks. Seniors will be offered Matter of Balance and My Health Matters programs.

The request to name the community center for former Council-member Enrique M. Barrera came from District 6 Councilwoman Delicia Herrera.

Mr. Barrera was appointed to the City Council in 2000 after Jose Menendez was elected to the Texas House of Representatives. He later won popular election for two terms, serving until 2005.

Mr. Barrera was an ordained deacon at San Fernando Cathedral. He also served on the Edgewood Independent School District Board of Trustees from 1978 to 1990. He served on the board of the Bexar County Mental Health and Mental Retardation from 1982 to 1985 and the San Antonio Development Agency from 1980 to 1982.

City of San Antonio

Mayor, Phil Hardberger
Councilwoman Mary Alice P. Cisneros, District 1
Councilwoman Sheila D. McNeil District 2
Councilwoman Jennifer V. Ramos District 3
Councilman Philip A. Cortez District 4
Councilwoman Lourdes Galvan District 5
Councilwoman Delicia Herrera District 6
Councilman Justin Rodriguez District 7
Councilwoman Diane G. Cibrian District 8
Councilman Louis Rowe District 9
Councilman John G. Clamp District 10

Sheryl Sculley City Manager

A.J. Rodriguez Deputy City Manager

Xavier Urrutia Director Parks and Recreation Department