Browse By


Presidente Fox Entrega Reconocimientos a Periodistas de EU

SAN ANTONIO, TX. – The Hispanic Media Awards in conjunction with Hispanic PR Wire announced today their “Ring of Honor” and “Journalist in Community Award” winners.  The two awards will be granted during the Hispanic Media Awards dinner on May 24th, 2007 at the Marriott Rivercenter in San Antonio, TX.   The program honors the nation’s top Spanish and bi-lingual journalists and media personalities from across the country.  This year’s keynote speaker will be former President of Mexico, Vicente Fox Quesada. 

The “2007 Ring Of Honor” award will be granted to Emilio Nicolas Sr.   This lifetime achievement recognition honors the Spanish Language Television Pioneer who was the driving force behind the launch of KWEX-TV.   The station was the first in what became the SIN Television Network, the precursor to what is today Univision Communications.  The Ring of Honor Award recognizes those who paved the way for today’s successful journalists. Each year at the Hispanic Media Awards dinner one honoree is inducted into this hall of fame.  Emilio Nicolas Sr. joins other Ring of Honor Lifetime Achievement award winners like Ignacio Lozano, Founder of La Opinion; Ana Maria Arias, Publisher and Founding Editor of Latina Style; Ruben Salazar, LA Times; Eduardo Porter, previously of the Wall Street Journal and Carlos Ramirez, former publisher of El Diario/La Prensa.    He is the first from the Television industry to be inducted into the Ring of Honor.

The 2007 “Journalist in Community Award” winner is Mr. Odilon Arambula of the Laredo Morning Times.   After a 30+ year career in Journalism, he became semi-retired in 2004 but continues to write and contribute to his community of Laredo.  Mr. Arambula has served his community with involvement in over 30 different civic, fraternal and professional organizations.  He still serves today in many capacities including a position on the board of Ruther B. Cowl Rehabilitation Center, an organization he has worked with since 1963 and as the current board President for the South Texas Foodbank.  Mr. Arambula has been recognized for his achievements by both regional and national organizations as well as his employer, the Hearst Corporation.  The “Journalist in Community Award” recognizes an individual who has shown great devotion to community service and involvement with their readers, viewers, or listeners in that capacity. 

On The Edge Promotions., a San Antonio based company that recognizes the growing influence of Spanish-language TV, radio, newspapers, the Internet, and the extraordinary efforts of professionals who contribute their journalistic excellence to keep the U.S. Hispanic community informed, is producing the Hispanic Media Awards.   Calls for nominations for this awards program were issued in January and February.    


Lista de Periodistas Honrados con un Reconocimiento

Nancy Agosto  Azteca America 
Alejandro Aguirre  Diario Las Americas 
Javier Alatorre  Azteca America 
Adriana Arevalo  Univision – Las Vegas 
Robert Armband  La Raza Newspaper 
Maria Celeste Arraras  Telemundo 
Martin Berlanga  Univision News 
Claudia Botero  Univision 34 
Andres Cantor  Telemundo 
Alfredo Carbajal  Al Dia Texas 
Rodolfo Cardenas  KCEC 50 – Denver 
Maria Antonieta Collins  Telemundo 
Lynn Cook  RUMBO 
David Cortinas  La Voz Hispanic Newspaper 
Dalia Diaz  Rumbo News 
Tino Duran  La Prensa de San Antonio 
Malin Falu  HITN 
Gustavo Godoy  Vista Magazine 
Lesley Gomez  Somos Padres 
Isabel Gomez-Bassols  Univision Radio 
Armando Guzman  Azteca America 
Jesus Hernandez  Diario Las Americas 
Jose Isasi  Que Pasa Media 
Dra. Aliza Lifshitz  Univision Radio Correspondent 
Monica Lozano  La Opinion 
Jose Ignacio Lozano  impreMedia 
Tania Luviano  MiTV 43 – San Diego 
Jorge Mederos  La Raza Newspaper 
Lety Miranda-Garcia  Prensa Hispana 
Zeke Montes  Tele Guia de Chicago 
Hilbert Morales  El Observador 
Denisse Oller  Univision 41 New York 
Rafael Olmeda  South Florida Sun-Sentinal 
Andres Oppenheimer  El Nuevo Herald
Amparo Ortiz  KWEX Univision San Antonio 
Luis Manuel Ortiz  La Voz (Phoenix) 
Alex Parra  PTS Media 
Eduardo Porter  New york Times 
Carlos Puig  RUMBO
John Quiñones  ABC News 20/20 
Jesse Ramirez Syndication 
Jorge Ramos  Univision
Ana Cristina Reymundo  American Airlines Nexos 
Rosanna Rosado  El Diario – La Prensa 
Maria Elena Salinas  Univision
Jose Martin Samano  Azteca America 
Pedro Sevcec  Telemundo
Eddie Sotelo  Univision Radio 
Carlos Verdecia  Tiempos del Mundo 
Alberto Vourvoulias-Bush  El Diario – La Prensa